Hull Philharmonic Orchestra: November 2021

27 November 2021
Showtime 7.30pm | Meet The Artist. Pre-concert talk: 6.30pm

From £10.00

In this first programme of favourites, requested by our players and supporters as a ‘Welcome Back’, we present another chance to hear our 2017 commission from Sir Karl Jenkins, 6000 Pipes! Jonathan Scott and his brother Tom join us as soloists on both Piano and Organ in a varied and popular programme which includes Florence Price, noted as the first African American woman to be recognised as a symphonic composer. Both Piazzolla’s and Malcolm Arnold’s music is our contribution to their centenary year.

GLINKA                                   Overture: Ruslan and Ludmilla                      

SHOSTAKOVICH                   Waltz from Jazz Suite No 2                            

SHOSTAKOVICH                   The Assault on Beautiful Gorky                                             

FLORENCE PRICE                Finale from Symphony No 1                                                                

DVOŘÁK                            Largo from The New World Symphony                      

RICHARD ADDINSELL           The Warsaw Concerto                                                                                   

SIR KARL JENKINS               6000 Pipes!     (HPO Commission 2017)                   

MOZART                                 Andante:Piano Concerto No 21 “Elvira Madigan”      

GRIEG                                     In the Hall of the Mountain King                                 

TCHAIKOVSKY                      Pas de Deux from The Nutcracker                                        

PIAZZOLLA                               Libertango

Key Info

  • Venue

  • Genre

    Classical Music
  • Audience

  • You might also be interested in